ROJO will (or not, or not-will-not?) sell his BP stock now the price is back up?

In the First Position, Mr. Johnson refuses to sell his BP stock:

“Aides to Johnson said he had no plans to sell the stock…” (Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, 7/9/10)

In the Second Position, Mr. Johnson says he will sell his stock, and put the money in a blind trust:

“It’ll be sold. I’ll be using those funds to get my message out, quite honestly.”
(Wisconsin Public Radio 7/12/10)

In the Third Position, here is Mr. Johnson, speaking at a luncheon (a luncheon!) said:

“I think that [selling BP stock] will eventually happen but I’m going to do it based on market conditions. I’m going to have to finance this campaign. At some point in time, to get my message out, that will probably happen. But it’s going to be based on market conditions.” (WisPolitics Luncheon, 7/26/10)

And that, my dear and only friend, is where the truth comes out. Like any sensible businessman, Mr. Johnson is waiting for the benevolent invisible hand of the market to tilt the price of BP stock up to where it’s worth selling. It’s Business 101 not to sell yourself short. Gauging where BP stock is now at, this is as good a time as any to do it and make money doing so.

And that’s what Mr. Johnson is all about.

Also: Talking Points Memo, Daily Kos, and Chris Matthews have each picked up on this.

Published by Jason Haas

I am a resident of the Bay View neighborhood in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and a member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors. That sometimes comes up on here, as it's kind of a small part of my life. No official county business happens here. I'm mostly using this now to give a rough draft account of how we're dealing with the COVID-19 pandemic. God help us all.

2 thoughts on “ROJO will (or not, or not-will-not?) sell his BP stock now the price is back up?

Comments are closed.