So who is this Jason guy?

It’s important for you to see who you may vote for. So, I have gone through my photographs and found one very good one showing me and my daughter, taken before the Daddy-Daughter Dance in 2006. Without further ado:

Hari & Papa before the 2005 Daddy-Daughter Dance.

The Daddy-Daughter Dance is held annually by Milwaukee Recreation, and if you’re a father of a young daughter, I highly recommend attending it. It’s a lot of fun, and it’s become a valued tradition for us that we always look forward to.

My daughter Hari is now five years old, and I’m 32. To put this in perspective, the retiring Supervisor Richard Nyklewicz, Jr., was elected in 1975 — the same year I was born. I started in Kansas City, Kansas, but my family moved around the country a few times. We came to Milwaukee County in 1984. Though my family moved away in 1988, I never forgot about Milwaukee, and always wanted to come back. That day finally came when I returned to Milwaukee in 2005.

Since then, I’ve been hard at work on many things: going to school at UWM; writing “On the Street” for the Bay View Compass (which always has be taking pictures behind the camera); working at CapTel, Inc.; co-hosting Drinking Liberally with Stacie, my fiancé; and starting the Milwaukee Biodiesel Co-op. Now I’m running for the County Board. I guess I needed something more to do!

That said, my daughter is top priority. Even though her mother and I are divorced, we actively communicate and work together in raising our daughter. It’s tough, but she’s worth it. We love playing in the parks, we love going to community events such as farmers markets, the Bay View Bash and South Shore Frolics. She loves Milwaukee, and I want to help make it a great place for her, and for grown-ups, too.

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.