The Independent Defines Himself

What do you stand for, and who are you with?

A lot of the people I meet while knocking on doors want to know which political party I’m with. That’s a fair question. But this is a non-partisan race, so I tell them that I’m not a member of any political party. I’ve never been a member of the Democratic, Republican, Green or Libertarian Parties. I consider myself an Independent. What does that make me?

I want to help our local economy, the local environment, and to control and lower our property taxes. I do not seek to do this through a property tax freeze, nor through endlessly cutting transit, parks, and social services. Quite the opposite. I believe that if we were to eliminate the money going to human services and quality of life, we would also remove much of the reason for us to live here. We chose to live in Milwaukee for a reason. Many generations before us have successfully worked and lived here thanks to our strong communities and high quality of life.

So how do we lower property taxes if we don’t cut and cut and cut? First, my principle of Clean Government includes accounting for and reducing wasteful government spending. That will save money over the long term. Second, Milwaukee was forced onto a starvation diet. You may recall the words of a former governor who said he wanted to “stick it to Milwaukee,” and Lord, he did. We’ve been paying the price ever since. I will seek to work with Mayor Barrett and our representatives in Madison to increase Milwaukee’s fair share of the state’s shared revenue and decrease property taxes. Also, you may not know that the recent property tax increase came largely from unfunded mandates made by the state of Wisconsin.

I want to improve Milwaukee economically, environmentally, and to the extent that I am able, improve our communities. I believe that by improving the city and county economies and environment, we make life better for everyone, regardless of their social or political standing. That means we can get more well-paying jobs here, one thing that all but ensures a good quality of life in the community. These are possible with more shared revenue.

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.