Letter to Journal Sentinel on privatization

In light of the forthcoming Journal Sentinel point-counterpoint on privatization featuring County Executive Scott Walker and the Journal Sentinel editorial board, I took the liberty to send in my own opinion. Here it is for your perusal.

Dear Editor,

As a candidate for the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, I am frequently asked for my opinion on privatization. While I am generally averse to privatization, I feel it should be considered on a case-by-case basis. In the case of the airport, we must remember that Mitchell International Airport is a publicly owned asset. Because of this, airport management is subject to public scrutiny, and any profit it makes goes into the public coffers, not an investor’s bank account.

In the past, privatizing the County’s public assets has meant lost jobs and an ultimately higher cost to the County. I believe that to sell operation of the airport to the highest bidder would be to relinquish one of the County’s gems. I find this unacceptable, and will oppose such an action on the County Board.

Sincerely,

Jason Haas
Candidate, Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, 14th District

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.