Here’s why I’m doing this

To place this in context, please read this post over at Folkbum’s blog dealing with the County Parks. The County Executive calls the parks “strong” and “vibrant.” If they were, I wouldn’t be doing this! Please read the post.  It’s no wonder the suburban parks are in good shape while the urban parks deteriorate. This touches on the core reasons for my bid for the County Board. It’s no surprise my message has resonated with my neighbors!

Here’s what I posted as a comment. It may sound like a campaign stump speech, but it’s actually how I feel.

The litter, overgrown weeds, and the County Executive’s threats to close the wading pool at Humboldt Park in Bay View are among the things that motivated me to run for the Milwaukee County Board in the 14th district. It was because of this that I made my three principles of Clean Parks, Clean Air and Clean Government. Humboldt Park and Bay View are suffering because we do not have these three things. We do not have Clean Parks thanks to the County Executive’s sloppy management and deliberate neglect of the parks. The tall, old trees in Humboldt Park are dying, partially from neglect, and partially from air pollution — hence my calls for Clean Air and Clean Government. The more I have looked around and seen the neglect of government and the many sources of air pollution in Milwaukee, the more I see that we need someone not just to call for these things, but someone to work and fight for these things. And that is why I’m running for the County Board.

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.