A graceful exit from the race

The results are in: I didn’t win! And I’ve never been so happy to say that. With all the votes totaled, I won 1,413 votes, or 13%. So why am I happy about this?

For one, I’m the new guy in the race. I’ve lived in Milwaukee’s south side for about two years, but while doing doors, I met people who’d lived here almost sixty years – in the same house. I’ve got a great respect for the people of the south side, and feel more at home here than I have anywhere.

Second, I got my message out, albeit in a limited manner. When doing doors, one or more of my Three Principles resonated with the people I met. Clean Parks was strong among virtually everyone, but I especially heard from parents of young children who rely on the parks to be clean and safe places for them and their children to play. Clean Air was the least visible principle (no pun intended), while many people identified Clean Government as what they felt most strongly was needed in Milwaukee County.

Second, I can now help Chris Larson, whom I have described as “the other good guy.” Chris was the big winner tonight, coming in first place with 4,540 votes. Chris has been doing things right, running a positive race and doing doors as much as he could. It is with great confidence that I fully throw my support behind Chris Larson for the Milwaukee County 14th District.

Now that it’s over, I will wrap up the race, and devote myself to my studies at UW-Milwaukee. Thanks for your support, and as always, have fun!

Best,
Jason.

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.