Forward Our Motto seems to agree: Sí, el puede!

The nice [person/people/folks] at Forward Our Motto raised the question of if presumptive Democratic Barak Obama can win the Latino vote, which was supposedly one of Hillary Clinton’s “groups,” to say nothing of the GOP’s once-and-future inroads to the Hispanic population. My hunch is that yes, he can, if he chooses New Mexico Governor Bill Richardson as his running mate. Richardson has the foreign policy experience Obama’s critics tried to use against him. It was Bill Richardson served as U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations in the Clinton administration and, most famously, negotiated with Saddam Hussein in 1998.

The reason I picked Bill Richardson as Obama’s running mate (can we call him the nominee yet?) is that ‘ve called the winning vice presidential candidate in every presidential election cycle since 1992 before the candidates have been chosen. I’ve been right in every race so far since then. My Spidey-Senses® somehow know who it’s going to be before the person is officially named. In 1992, I knew it would be Al Gore. In ’96, I knew Gore would win again. I had a very bad feeling that Dick Cheney would name himself as George Walker Bush’s running mate when Cheney was asked to lead the veep search committee, and that while they wouldn’t win per se, they would get in. In ’04, it was clear Edwards would be Kerry’s pick for veep, but I knew they wouldn’t win. While I don’t like being right on the last two rounds, I have a strong feeling that an Obama-Richardson ticket would be a winning ticket.

I followed Richardson’s presidential bid for a while. It soon became clear that Richardson was most likely running for the vice presidential slot, but his talk about using Great Lakes water for the southwest was an instant turn-off for me. As soon as he pitched that, my support went back to Obama. I’m glad the Wisconsin legislature finally passed the Great Lakes Water Compact, which, pending approval by other states and Congress, will hopefully keep the water up here for perpetuity, regardless of a possible vice president’s wishes for it. I’ve lived in New Mexico and have a lot of respect for Richardson. I know something about the water situation in Albuquerque (it’s not good). But keep your hands off our water!

So, will it be Richardson? Time will tell. If I’m wrong, so be it. 4-1 is not a bad record.

Addendum: There’s a post on HuffPo that seems to agree abotu Richardson. I say, “seems to,” as I’m not sure what it’s saying. But it’s close enough to link to.

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.

1 thought on “Forward Our Motto seems to agree: Sí, el puede!”

  1. I think Richardson would be a great choice for Obama. He’d provide nice balance to the ticket, and I don’t think anyone can doubt whether he’s qualified for the job.

Comments are closed.