Flood damage visible from I-43 in southern Wisconsin

As anticipated, a trip down I-43 to Beloit provided an opportunity to look at flood damage in rural southern Wisconsin. While the pictures from June 13 showed the view from eastbound I-94, this set from June 16 focuses on flooding in Rock, Walworth, and Waukesha Counties. There are eight pictures in all.

I’m currently headed north on I-43. The water in this field is actually lower than it was two days earlier.

Headed north on I-43, we see a very flooded farm.

What’s that lurking on the horizon? That, on the ground…

This is where the flooding leads us to: fresh McMansions on former farmland. Now featuring breathtaking waterfront views…

Good thing the McMansions are just down the freeway from Home Depot. I wonder if they sell flood control equipment there? Too bad about the subprime mortgage market…

A nameless, faceless big box store. They do look lovely when the sun is at just the right angle.

When I first passed it three days ago, flood waters were lapping over the  lowest edge of the billboard for this property developer. Rest assured, they’re Building On Experience.®

This quarry in Waukesha County is now a very full lake!

My thoughts are with the people who are dealing with this.

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.