“A lot of excitement for East Euclid Avenue.”

I couldn’t sleep anyway tonight, so we might as well have had an exciting coda to the evening. That came in the form of hearing the screeching of tires and a hard collision of two automobiles. I shot up from the couch, grabbed my cell phone and ran outside. My bare feet were far from my mind when I saw a red Trans Am or Camero, its hood standing straight up as it spun around on the other side of Howell Avenue. Somehow its driver managed to stop just long enough to make sure there was no traffic coming at the intersection of Euclid and Howell before charging down the street toward me. And I swear, it was just like an action movie, the intrepid hero jumping out of the way of an onrushing car — and that’s where the action ended. I saw the red car with the hood straight up stopped somewhere around Pine Avenue, and people around there seemed to be running, one person running away from the red car, another after him/her. Since people were gathering around the west side of Euclid and Howell, which is where the red car came from, I figured it was time to call 911.

After speaking with the dispatcher and then informing Milwaukee Police of what I saw, my neighbor Raul told me about this person who had driven a car straight up a utility pole some twelve years ago. He hadn’t seen much excitement on the block since then, until tonight. I made my way across to the west side of Howell, where a bunch of people were gathered. It ws there that I learned the red car had seriously hit my neighbor Mark’s little Ford, pushing it about twenty feet — and that was the sound my neighbor Raul and I had both heard that brought us out to investigate.

A bit later, I talked to Jeff, who lives around the 700 block of East Euclid. He and his friends were sitting out on the porch having beers, when the bitchin’ Camaro pulled up. Its driver, a white woman, got out and started running up the street towards Oklahoma, where she apparently hoped in another car and took off! I don’t know if she was driving or if she had an accomplice. But the good news is that Jeff from around 700 East Euclid got the license plate number of the getaway car, and hopefully the perpetrators will be rounded up quickly.

Well, I don’t need to be up early for a change tomorrow morning… but the South Shore Farmers Market would be best if I got a little sleep. So I’ll see what I can do.

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.