My kid’s first day at summer camp

There must be some saying about what a milestone that the first day of your child’s summer camp represent that I’m either totally unaware of or totally forgetting. Either way, today is the first day of summer camp for my daughter down at a local MPS school. Her fears of being there were pretty strong today, though they steadily wavered throughout the morning. Having her outfit for the day picked out the night before seemed to help us make a smooth start, and we caught the #11 MCTS bus for the short ride to camp with ease. It wasn’t until we got about a block from the school that her anxiety kicked in once again.

Honestly, I feeling just like that when I was about her age. The fear of the unknown, the fear of not knowing who will be there. The kids seemed pretty happy to be there for the most part, though one boy was wailing for his mother. Despite Hari’s visible anxiety, a Milwaukee Recreation staff person helped her get started with some coloring books, giving me the opportunity to make a quiet exit.

The program looks very good, full of activities for groups and individual kids. Another parent told me that on hotter days, the kids are taken to a pool, and that overall, he’s very happy with the program. It should be good!

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.

2 thoughts on “My kid’s first day at summer camp”

  1. Nice article! As I am in Comp-Camp for kids, I know that there is a stuff responsible for take care about first moments in camp ! In my Computer Camp we regularly have workshop of meetings/introducing. One of workshop looks like : kids bring their photo from their the earliest days( we ask parents to send it with child- often parents are amazed -why) and , sittings in the circle, every one takes one photo and need to guess who is on that photo. Usually, all of them have a fun and lough.

Comments are closed.