I-94 is completely open again

Thank goodness. I’m glad that this major thoroughfare is open and that it’s been deemed safe. Here’s the latest WisDOT closed road map:

WisDOT closed road map on June 27

Compare this to the June 14 map:

WisDOT closed roads on June 14

Much better, eh? The other effect that I-94 westbound in Jefferson County being closed was that it made me take I-43, which offers a more relaxed pace of travel. That in turn allowed me to take this picture of my car’s dashboard:

401.1 miles on about half a tank of fuel. Danke, mein TDI!

I’d driven 401.1 miles on about half a tank of fuel. Danke, mein TDI! Unfortunately, the car always seems to go through fuel faster on the second half-tank, and in the end my total miles were just under 650 miles from about 13.5 gallons of fuel, which makes for right around 48 MPG. Not bad. With diesel up to ~$4.60/gallon, and commercial biodiesel even higher, I need every efficient mile I can get.

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.