“garfield minus garfield” is a bit of brilliance that comes to you in conveneint TCP/IP wrappers

A few times each week, I will preface a story to my daughter by saying “When I was a little boy…” With that I try to share with her something memorable, if not a kernel of wisdom gleaned by an eight year old me. Indeed, when I was a little boy, “Garfield” was my absolute favorite comic strip. I had a good sized stack of paperback “Garfield” books, even a plush toy or two.

Fast forward to 2008. “Garfield” is tedious, if not slightly odious. I occasionally glance at it when I come across a copy of a Sunday paper. My daughter seems to like it well enough. But I have little time for it. So, and I quote the gmg site, emphasis added, “Who would have guessed that when you remove Garfield from the Garfield comic strips, the result is an even better comic about schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, and the empty desperation of modern life? Friends, meet Jon Arbuckle. Let’s laugh and learn with him on a journey deep into the tortured mind of an isolated young everyman as he fights a losing battle against loneliness in a quiet American suburb.

(My life to a tee in my younger years.)

This entry of “garfield minus garfield” is particularly striking to me somehow:

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.