Aphid Assault III

Today came my third attack on the aphids at Village Roots Garden. The little buggers are, if nothing else, persistent. My soapy assault was somewhat restrained this time, as there were a few ladybugs on the plants. That’s significant, because while ladybugs do eat aphids, they also succumb to soapy water. I hope none of them were too sprayed, but I didn’t know how much the three ladybugs could do in the face of so many aphids. Plus I figured by the time the ladybugs could have made much of a difference, the aphids would have killed the plants. So I let ’em have it.

It reminds me of something I told my daughter. When you have a superhero’s superpower, you need to know when to use it, as you can’t always use it. Just my mighty TDI is even mightier thanks to the RocketChip, I don’t drive insanely fast while in Bay View, as that would be dangerous. (Late at night on the Hoan Bridge is another matter.) Similarly, we need to know when to commit soapicide (sic.) upon aphids and when to try to spare the benevolent ladybugs. Hopefully that happened, but the aphids will soon be gone. I’ll check on it tomorrow and find out.

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.