My pick for Obama’s Veep matches Deke River’s

Yes, I’m officially backing away from Bill Richardson as my veep pick. He’d make a good secretary of state, though.

Like Deke, I believe that Joe Biden will be Obama’s VP pick. Biden has the experience behind the scenes that Obama needs on his side, and — are you ready for this? — Joe Biden is a white man. Put together, those two things could do a lot to reassure the people who are not ready to have someone who is not white or a man in the White House, even if he would only be visiting. I know this may wrankle some of my lefty comrades who want Obama to pick a woman, or a Hispanic, or both, to be his Veep. But for Obama to bring about great change in this country, there are some things that I just instinctively know he’s going to have to play it safe on. Biden is that man.

Now, to cover my own ass, let me say that Virginia Governor Tim Kaine is my second pick. My Spidey-Senses® had it as someone from the east coast, if not New England, then Virginia. Going with Kaine would put Virginia even more into play for Obama, and that could be just what he needs to inch it over the top. Assuming all the other potential things he has going for him don’t do it, such as the youth vote and the droves of new voters being registered across the country. I’ve been right about the winning (whether by rote or by vote) veep since 1991, but this past election cycle has introduced a lot of new variables that have made it hard to get a solid pick. But I’m pretty sure that it will be Biden. Or Kaine.

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.

One thought on “My pick for Obama’s Veep matches Deke River’s”

  1. I still think it’s going to be Kaine, with Montana governor Brian Schweitzer as my second choice. Kaine’s selection would practically giftwrap Virginia for Obama.

Comments are closed.