Good luck, Texas.

I’m a bit dazed after spending several minutes flipping through Hearst Newspapers’ Houston Chronicle, looking at pictures of what Hurricane Ike has done to Galveston and Houston. I haven’t heard from my dad or stepmother, who live near Tyler, Texas (map), but I figure the power is out there as it is across much of Texas. I did just get word from my old family friends Pam and Mike, former residents of Wauwatosa who now live in Houston:

"Survived the storm with minimal damage, aside from an uprooted 30' maple tree that is lying on the roof of the house. No phone or electricity, but thank goodness for my iPhone! Will post pictures when the power comes back on."

Good luck everyone!

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.