Night Riding

I biked from Bay View to UWM again today, with a side trip from UWM to Comet on Farwell and then up to Corey the Bike Fixer up on the east side’s Murray Hill neighborhood, and back to UWM for my evening class — and then home. Probably about twenty miles in total. But that’s not what I’m writing about.

Have you ever seen the illuminated masts and lines of the S/V Denis Sullivan, the state’s flagship schooner, docked at the colorful lights of the Discovery World museum? It’s a majestic sight, one that inspired a pride in the city of Milwaukee like nothing I’ve seen before.

Riding on, approaching the Summerfest grounds, I suddenly noticed the grey-white light of the full moon as it rose over Lake Michigan. I’ve you’ve never seen that before, I do advise you to do it while you still can in comfortable weather. It’s breathtaking.

My ride home, with the sight-seeing and stopping once to get a drink of water, took 45 minutes. Not bad. I think this morning’s ride went faster, but I took a slightly more direct route, so that would make sense.

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.