A brief detour, from politics to gardening

I talked to my dad last night. He lives in Texas now, East Texas to be specific. Though he and my stepmother are in the now-slightly larger minority of Texan Democrats, he said that he’s sick of hearing about the election. He wishes we could just have the election and get it over with.

So on that note, I’m taking a break from my constant politicking on here to give a last update about my autumn gardening.

Back on August 10, I started a few small experiments with planting seeds in pots. I planted the seeds we got from some homegrown Hungarian hot wax peppers, as well as some red ace beets. It looks like some of the hot peppers might have taken, and while some of the beets didn’t quite take, we have at least two red beets growing in the pots! It’s exciting. My hunch that the seasons are shifting slightly later seems to have been held up, at least this year. It’s still got to get below 50 degrees F., and we’re in late October. That ain’t right, but if it’s happening, I’ll use it to my advantage and grow more food before winter!

Also, Stacie harvested and dried a good number of herbs we’d grown, including parsley, basil (I think), sage, and oregano. The house smelled wonderful while she was drying them in the oven, especially the oregano. Our cat may be happy that we also brought in the catnip plant and dried it in the oven, although its smell was not nearly as nice for us as the other herbs. (Perhaps growing catnip is part of how our cat became housebroken this year?)

This weekend past I raked the big pile of leaves that my daughter had a joyful time jumping in. It’s now covering most our backyard garden, and hopefully with enough snow this winter, it will turn into a good layer of fertilizer for next year’s garden. My quasi-scientific gardening has done well this year, so next spring we’ll see how this latest attempt goes.

Finally, I should be starting a new blog on a well-known local (independent) web site. Stay tuned for that too!

While it felt great to get my hands back in the soil again, right now I need to go canvassing. We’ve got a lot of work to do in the next sixteen days. Let’s go!

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.

2 thoughts on “A brief detour, from politics to gardening”

Comments are closed.