Two significant conversations from canvassing yesterday

Aside from my up-close-and-personal conversation with the asphalt on East Linus Street, I had two conversations that stood out. One was with a young girl who was riding her skateboard down the street towards me. She spied my clipboard and asked me what I was doing, to which I replied that I was canvassing for Barack Obama. She instantly lit up and rattled off about how most people would get a tax cut under Obama, and how he’d make sure we all had health, and how John McCain is so old! When she spied “the bullies” coming down the other side of the street, she rolled away on her skateboard, and I kept walking.

The other significant conversation I had was with a woman in her twenties who had been leaning toward McCain solely because of her pro-life views. Her concern about McCain, like with so many other people, was over the economy, and because of this, she was now leaning slightly towards Obama. This provided an opportunity to emphasize Obama’s economic plan, which she had read, and to tell her about some things that she was too young to remember, such as the Keating Five S&L bailout, which John McCain was a central part of. I soon switched back to her rightful concerns about abortion, and said that I didn’t like it either, but under President Obama, abortion would become less likely to happen. But that wouldn’t happen if things continue to go the way that they are going.

After a few minutes of our courteous discussion, I excused myself and asked her to vote for Obama. I hope that my visit made a difference.

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.