A few more hours

Almost two years of the longest presidential campaign we’ve ever known are about to draw to a close.

Today, there was a 90-year-old man at the Obama office in Bay View proudly wearing a “Republicans for Obama” pin. He was going to go out and do doors!

Thanks to the campaign, I’ve been to parts of Milwaukee I never would have gone to otherwise. And know what? The people on Third and Lincoln, at Thirty-third and Silver Spring, and at Seventh and North Avenue are just like you and me.

In the past twenty-four hours alone, I’ve talked to more African-Americans than I ever have talked to in one sitting in my life. It’s amazing what happens when people look each other in the eye and talk to each other respectfully.

The early results are looking good.

I hope the next four years turn out as good as we hope they will.

So here’s to hope. It feels very good.

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.