A right call: Bill Richardson wanted Sec. of State post

Some time ago, I had New Mexico Gov. Bill Richardson pegged as either running for Vice President or Secretary of State. A later conclusion was the having a part-African man atop the ticket with a Hispanic man in the #2 slot would be too much change for a good number of people, and that Richardson would be happy as Secretary of State. I’d say he’s qualified, given his experience in effective, hands-on negotiations with dictators, e.g. Saddam Hussein. My hunch has been confirmed in recent days, most recently in this story on Politico.com. (And a second story supports my assertion.) Since he got beat for the Secretary of State job, I think he’s now headed for an easy confirmation as Secretary of Commerce, where he’ll do fine.

I can’t take full credit for calling Biden as the VP pick before the candidates were being vetted, which is the first time since 1991 that I’ve not been able to do it. Oh well.  2010 should be an easy-enough call.

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.