R.I.P. Brandon Jensen

I can say this no better than did Chris Larson, my Milwaukee County Supervisor, who wrote this:
“It is with a heavy heart that I that I inform you that Brandon Jensen of Amalgamated Transit Union committed suicide yesterday.  He was a dedicated transit advocate and friend.  May you keep his family and friends in your thoughts today.”
While I don’t know Brandon personally, it saddens me to hear this. Not just because he was an advocate and fighter for transit, but for his family and friends and those around him who are so directly affected. I am sorry for your loss.
Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.

9 thoughts on “R.I.P. Brandon Jensen”

  1. Amen.

    Brandon was not only a great advocate, but a truly good hearted person. He was a blessing to this world and will truly be missed.

    My thoughts and prayers are with his family and loved ones.

  2. Why hide from the truth? There is too much of that these days. The fact is that he was apparently very troubled and chose a cowardly way to deal with his problems. It is sad that he couldn’t share the truth of his problems with someone who could have eased his pain. Perhaps Missu knew him and is feeling guilty for not having done more to help him?

  3. Guys, this is not the time to be playing a blame game. It is what it is and now is the time to step up and be there for their family in prayer. Arguing about the past isn’t going to help. “think of the family”…how it would have affected your lives and then fall to your knees in prayer for them. I knew them well and they deserve more.

  4. i did no them well but it would of never been me he would come to for help. this isnt about how he died dont you think it hurt his wife to see that it was posted there is no need for everyone to no how it happened. just pray and help the family that is in need of our love

  5. Oh boy. I know El Gato means well, but I would love if he would focus on compassion for our brother. Believe me, I am wrestling with similiar emotions but we all need to allow the only judgement to come from the All Knowing One. I think at times like this, God must look down on us little fools running around pointing fingers, scratching our heads, trying to make sense of it all.

    Let us remember the family needs privacy and our sensitivity; this is not a time for editorials and fingerpointing. The truth is that Brandon had a loving support system around him, and no one should blame themselves or think there was more they could do (although I too have gotten caught up in that type of thinking). The truth is that the enemy loves watching us blame ourselves, each other, and even Brandon. Let’s show the enemy that he has NOT won, and that WE WILL PRAISE GOD TODAY AND FOREVERMORE for sending his Son to save us from the devil and eternal death.

    In this season of Christmas, let us remember that Jesus Christ came so that we no longer have to suffer. Let us remember Brandon for all the beautiful things that Christ made him, and trust that God will judge him…far be it from any of us wretched sinners to fall into that scheme of Satan’s. Let us stand together as one family. Let us not argue. Me must love one another.

    Isaiah 25:8 “He will swallow up death forever; and the Lord GOD will wipe away tears from all face.”

    Praise GOD!

  6. Yeah it isn’t right for everyone to know what happened it’s no ones business really except for his family because the u have the people who want to know how it happened I knew his wife and I know this is causing alot of emotions to stir up just pray for his family that they can make it through this hard time

  7. At first I was angry to come across this site the day after my husband died, but I realized that there are a lot of people who have been directly affected by Brandon’s death.
    I love my husband with everything in me, and I am so unbelievably proud of his accomplishments! He fought so hard for Transit & issues concerning our community. He deserved more, but always remained content with not getting recognition. He did it because he loved people and put everyone else first.

    Brandon took Union office in 2006 and slipped into depression- most people noticed his extremely rapid weight loss- but unfortunately he never let anyone, including me, into his mind where he was apparently being tormented by the devil. The stress of his job was too heavy a burden, and he always wanted to protect his family & those close to him from it…

    Our children and I are trying to deal with our extreme grief, and I ask that everyone please respect our privacy. Although I’m aware that people have things to say, I would love to read good things written about the kind of man my husband was; I would appreciate it if people would keep cruel, or opinionated comments to themselves… Please do this for the sake of my children! Thank you!

    Thank you all for your support~ I look forward to being able to dance with him again on the streets of heaven and hope that if you don’t know Jesus as your personal Saviour that you would come to Him, and we can all spend eternity together ❤

    1. I knew Brandon in gradeschool and highschool and he was a great person. I was lucky enough to see him again at our 5 yr reunion and he talked lovingly of his wife, not sure if he had kids at that time but you could see at that time he was happy. No one knows why things like this happen and Im very sorry it did. He was a great person. I just found out and Im truly sorry.

Comments are closed.