I just wrote President Obama a letter.

Yeah, a pen and paper letter. Nothing much, nothing special. But I do enjoy my ability as an American to be able to write to my president like that.

The last time I wrote anything to the president was when I was in fourth grade, and my class, under the direction of our teacher, wrote letters to President Reagan supporting his official line on the War on Drugs. “Drugs bad!” we wrote, “drugs bad!” This was long before most if any of us in suburban Milwaukee had any exposure to drugs aside from aspirin and cough medicine. And you know, some cough and cold medicines have more powerful effects in large doses than even that most dreadful and purely evil of drugs, marijuana. Yet they continue to be sold and readily accessable by children under the age of 18…

Anyway. I just wrote President Obama to say “WE DID IT!!” and express my gratitude and the gratitude felt by the people at our party last night. I may write to him again. With President Obama in office, I feel like we have someone who cares what we the people think. I’m not sure when the last time I thought that was. But either way, it’s a very good feeling.

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.

2 thoughts on “I just wrote President Obama a letter.”

  1. Hope you are Happy with that SLOGAN!

    If you only knew the truth and accepted the truth.
    The USA is now finding out what kind of a CROOK, LIAR, and NON CITIZEN they put in OFFICe not to include he is a RACIST along with his Wife.
    Hope everyone is Happy. You think there will be change OH YEAH Change has started and let me tell you, It is not looking good with BARRY and his CROOKS in OFFICE.
    BEWARE! Don’t ever say WE DID NOT TELL YOU SO!
    Enjoy your So called President that is not even Legal and there are 48 Lawsuits Pending as of TODAY and he is paying at least 600 an hour to be represented by attys so his records are not unsealed. I am ASHAMED at what the USA has put in office, If that was me I would be in Jail by Now.

Comments are closed.