President Obama’s first day and a half have made history

What’s funny to me about that headline is just that: I am delivering an opinion on President Obama’s first day and a half. Me, being an amateur historian, who usually doesn’t like to write about things until they’ve had a few weeks to age and develop, am using my blog and all the authenticity and authority that I have with my 7.5 readers, to declare President Obama’s first day and a half as a great success. Well, goodness knows I’m not alone in that. Many of us, at least in the lefty side of the Cheddarsphere, think he’s shown great courage in ordering some of the worst aspects of the Bush administration to be shut down — torture, the “black sites,” and Gitmo have been condemned not only with words, but with the iron weight of a presidential order. You just know that with those strokes of the pen, much of our place, America’s place in the world was restored.

Then there’s the new White House web site. They’ve got a blog! Sure, it’s a very 1998 sort of technology, but what a wonderful way to distribute their propaganda. It makes them seem much more in touch and open to the world. I honestly don’t know how open they will or will not be, but given what we’ve seen so far from them, I’m cautiously optimistic. Hell, any amount of openness after the green krytonite-clad Bush secrecy is a relief.

That said, what good is it if they are flooding the world with information? There’s already an overabundance of information as it is. But the good of this, I think, is that if we so wish, we can each review what’s coming out and decide for ourselves what to make of it. Because, you know that each and every one of us has the time to review and analyze government documents… (or not.) Facetiousness aside, I am glad that they’re doing it. I hope it keeps up. But so far, he’s earned the highest marks in my book.

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.