Two glimpses inside the tight cocoon that is Apple, Inc.

While I wish Steve Jobs the best of health, one also must wonder how good or bad his infamous vice grip on secrecy at Apple actually is for the health of the company. Financially, it’s been great since he returned in 1997. They just had $1.61 billion in profits, and went from being a fading star to a rising power in many fields.

Since Steve Jobs has taken a leave of absence to try and beat his health problems, two interesting glimpses into Apple have come to light. First was Chief Operating Officer Tim Cook’s view of the “Apple philosophy,” which I first saw referred to over on MacRumors.com. Honestly, I haven’t looked at it yet, as it doesn’t seem quite as interesting to me as does this “behind-the-scenes interview with Apple’s own design guru Jonathan Ive in his natural habitat,” as Ars Technica put it. And quite honestly I haven’t looked at that yet either, as I actually posted about it before reading it. Ooouh, those daring bloggers, with their faulty trust in the reliability of online media! Well, either way, I figure some of my 8.5 readers ā€” no, Mobile’s Take isn’t a Mac guy (so strange, you’d think he would be) ā€” my 7.5 readers will enjoy it.

To be fair(er), David Chartier at Ars Technica noted that ”

Apple has been surprisingly open about its design and manufacturing processes lately. The most recent example is the video Apple made to show off its new unibody process for the current MacBook generation in which the company showed actual manufacturing clips of MacBook enclosures in various states of construction.” Personally, I flash back to the early 1990s, when one TV ad showed the assembly process of computer motherboards gliding along a river of what appeared to be molten metal ā€” probably solder? I can’t find it on YouTube, but who needs that when you can see Kevin Costner using an Apple Lisa?

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.