NPR: “New Book Dissects Reagan’s Role In The Cold War”

The Cold War used to be my academic passion. It’s taken a back seat to gardening and urban farming for some time now, probably because I’m just tired of being in college. (“Senioritis” strikes even us old timers, it seems. I’m not even 35, but compared to many of my fellow students, I’m an old timer.) And try as I may, I have not been able to grow either books nor beer in my gardens…

James Mann’s book peers into the mind and the administration of President Ronald Reagan, and shows that the now-deified (by the right, anyway) president was often at odds with the pundits and talking heads of the day.

Moreover, I suspect it shows that Soviet President Mikhail Gorbachev played a much bigger and more central role in ending the Cold War than may have been thought by many. Yes, Reagan figuratively waltzed with Gorbachev in the end, but it was Gorbachev who began the process of deep thaw within the once-myopic state.

I look forward to reading this book.

And please, if you can, buy it through a local book seller. (Harry Schwartz, we miss you!)

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.