Double points for buying herbicides, pesticides, and fertilizers?

I got an email from a local hardware store saying I can get double points on my store card by buying chemical products for my garden. Chemicals such as Roundup, or other name brand fertilizers and pesticides. Why on earth would anyone put such stuff in their food garden, much less around their house? I know why, actually. But I will not be among them. I don’t want my future dog to get bladder cancer from the herbicides in the yard, nor do I want my children (present or future) to get sick from eating the food that I grew which happens to have poisionous chemicals in it. No way.

While there is a place for such chemicals, I don’t know what that would be. And I certainly  will not use any of them in my garden. Thanks but no thanks, Ace.

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.

1 thought on “Double points for buying herbicides, pesticides, and fertilizers?”

  1. My notes on getting signed up for pesticide notification (when
    your neighboors are about to get a treatment, you are entitled to a
    warning):

    lawn pesticide notification

    landscape registry coordinator:debra viedma:
    608 224 4616:fax 608 224 4656

    lawncare hotline 608 224 5296

    debra.viedma@datcp.state.wi.us
    wisconsin dept of agriculture trade and consumer protection
    div of agriculture resource management
    http://www.datcp.state.wi.us

    2811 agriculture dr
    po b 8911
    madison wi 53708-8911

Comments are closed.