Evangelising “The Urban Homestead” is my specialty.

There’s a wonderful book called The Urban Homestead: Your Guide to Self-sufficient Living in the Heart of the City that I’ve become a bit of an evangelist for.  (“And if by ‘a bit,’ you mean, ‘raving mad,’ then yes…”)

The Urban Homestead cover art
The Urban Homestead cover art

Rather than containing detailed descriptions of how to do things such as building a self-watering raised bed, I feel that the authors of this book say, “Hey! Check this out! This is really cool! It worked for us, and it can work for you too. Now, GO!!

In this age of Teh Google and the Internets, any information that’s somehow missing or inadequately covered in the book can be quickly remedied with a quick online search. Or better yet, by talking to someone in your area who’s into gardening.

I’ve given away a few copies of The Urban Homestead. and I have gotten nothing but rave reviews from the recipients. Here’s what my friend Lisa said in an email:

Wanted to totally thank you for that book. It’s just perfect. We built a bean teepee, and a 8 x 24 raised garden bed. Lots of compost from Will  [Growing Power] – now my yard smells like a barn! Doing our own compost too! So excited and obsessed! So, thanks!
My college biology instructor said that this wife snatched the copy that I had given him out of his hands and declared, “This is the perfect book!” Apparently he has to wrestle it from her in order to see it!
As you know, having Yet Another Obsession is not necessarily a dangerous thing, especially if it’s helping you grow your own delicious (and very inexpensive!) food. So let me ask…
Brother, have you heard the word of Kelly Coyne and Erik Knutzen?
Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.

2 thoughts on “Evangelising “The Urban Homestead” is my specialty.”

    1. You’re welcome! I believe it’s under revision, or at least it was the last time I checked.

      As I said in my praise for the book, rather than containing detailed descriptions of how to do things such as building a self-watering raised bed, I feel that the authors of this book say, ey! Check this out! This is really cool! It worked for us, and it can work for you too. Now, GO!!”

      But it’s good. 😀

Comments are closed.