Planting has begun at my Yard-Farm

The first plantings of the season have finally started at my little yard-farm. As I recently said to someone, writing a paper for a takehome exam and my senior thesis, plus moving followed by Stacie’s law school graduation has kept me back just a little bit. But, we’ve got the wood to build raised beds with.Next week I’ll be getting even more wood, along with nails and L-joints, and be mostly ready to build.

Just today, one neighbor brought over some composted horse manure (which smells like dirt, and not at all like fresh horse manure — phew!) while another neighbor lent me an old shovel and accompanying spade. We’ll have more composted manure coming all week, and probably another tool or two.

And I planted today: a basil plant, and three hot pepper plants, including a jalapeño plant. One daffodil was transplanted to make room, and hopefully will survive okay. And my daughter and I planted somenasturtium seeds in hopes of attracting butterflies and hummingbirds.

When I told my daughter that she could have her own planting bed and asked her what she would like to plant in it, she thought about it for a moment, and then replied, “Creeping charlie… black walnut… and poison ivy!”

Needless to say those will not be planted in her garden.

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.