A little pocket of Bay View has been transformed

As a proud resident of the south side Milwaukee neighborhood of Bay View, I’m happy to see little pockets of our neighborhood spring to life. As much as I might like to keep our little secret contained, it’s vital to the success of the community that we make it known that Bay View kicks butt.

And it turns out that one little part of Bay View that I’m not sure I paid attention to has just been revitalized and reborn.

Tonic Tavern has come into being at 2335 S. Kinnickinnic Ave., in a building which used to be a  horse stable, according to OnMilwaukee.com. (I noticed while walking through a back alley in the older part of Bay View the other day that you can easily find former stables. Here’s one I wouldn’t have guessed.)

While I’m not much for the bar scene (aside from hosting Drinking Liberally), this place deserves checking out. Nice thing is that with it being perhaps two miles from our house, it will make for a very nice evening walk this summer.

Also, here are before and after pictures. The first is from Google Maps. The building in question is in the center of the frame.

Picture 10

Doesn’t look like much, huh? Well, here’s the “after” picture via OMC:

I look forward to enjoying a bright new part of our community. I invite you to try it some time as well.

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.

1 thought on “A little pocket of Bay View has been transformed”

  1. That looks like a really cool place to go for a drink or two!
    I used to live in Bay View in 1997-1998. It has changed a lot since then, for the better. Walkability, for one,is a bit safer; neat architecture, history, convenience remain. I still miss living there sometimes. It is interesting for me now to walk KK and note how many positive changes have taken place. I hope it continues. Schwartz and a few other places closing have dampened the enthusiasm a bit, but I choose to stay optimistic.

Comments are closed.