Time flies while you’re having fun in the garden

[Written some nine days ago. Whoops.] Really, it does. Thanks to my generous friends and neighbors (and a certain foreclosed house) I now have washers in my elongated hose that prevent leaks, more than half a dozen new tomato plants in the ground, and a much easier way to water everything than my old method. [Take a deeeeep breath… and begin a new sentence!] The old way was to stretch the house out as far as it would go, string it over the fence into the garden area, and then fill the metal ice bucket (which we use as a food scrap bucket) with water. Then I’d carry the full bucket over to one of the five raised garden beds and slowly pour it out. Repeat this at least five times per bed, and you’ve got the makings of a sore back! Now, I just stretch out the house, and use it to water the ever-growing number of planting beds, and even give the compost bin a soak for good measure.

Between enjoying my non-spraying-on-me hose and planting the heirloom and vine tomatoes, I got lost in the mildly-warm summer day. We are now nearly half way through June, and we can still count the number of days the temperature has gone above 70 degrees on one hand! Predictably, our cold crops are doing quite well while the melons and cucumbers are struggling. They’ll come through, though, I’m sure of it.

I’ll have to post some pictures of the planting beds in the near future. The before and after pictures will be impressive.

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.