Community garden started in Topeka, Kansas

It’s neat for me to see folks from Kansas doing community gardening. While I’m originally from Kansas, I feel a pretty minimal connection to the place. We left when I was five years old, and then I went and got all attached to Wisconsin. My greatest feeling of connection to Kansas City actually came when I reported on the Iraq war protest there in 2002 or 2003, but I’m having trouble finding that article online now.

Anyhow, I came across a pingback from this group called Chords & Oil, who have started a community garden in the Kansan capitol city. They noted my dissection of our local right-wing media’s hissy fit over a Milwaukee community garden fighting the entry of yet another fast food joint coming in to the north side. Apparently that blew over the moment the wind changed, as I haven’t heard anything about it since then.

Good luck in Topeka, folks. We’d like to see pictures of your garden some time!

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.