Happy birthday, Internets!

The interwebs have turned 40 years old. That’s pretty cool. Considering that I met my now ex-wife via USENET, or really, at a gathering of people from a certain newsgroup. And Stacie, my almost-wife, I met because she wrote a blog for my old newspaper. You can still find some scraps of that blog, The Vast Dairy State Conspiracy, over on DU. Lesser but still important groups such as Milwaukee County First and Drinking Liberally have arisen thanks to the ‘net.

While I have been “online” since roughly 1986 or 1987, when my parents got a modem for our computer, I didn’t get on the Internet itself until 1993, after I’d graduated from high school and plopped myself into a UW-Madison computer lab. (And I think I read about Linux shortly before then.) I could say that my first indirect exposure to the Internet came via FIDO in 1991, but I didn’t use that too much. But by today’s standards, I’m a bit of an old-timer. Or as someone at the UWM help desk put it when I looked at PantherList and said, “Oh, this is a listserv.” the young fellow to my left said, “Wow, you’re old school.”

I’d like to think that.

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.