High roller in higher ed: Bowling II

What’s a good way to top off my roster of classes this fall? I’m signed up for Classics 301 – Herodotus and the Dramatists, History 341 – Imperial Russia: Despotism to Bolsheviks, History 379 – Introduction to Jewish History, and Communication 520 – Negotiation Skills Workshop. All I need is one more credit, and I can graduate. What will it be?

To wrap up my hard-hitting college education that has centered around the history of the Cold War and involved working at the IT help desk, switchboard, and computer labs, and making sure whole reams of paper were in the printer on the third floor of the union, I have found one final class that is perfect to cap off my days at UW-Milwaukee.

That class is Bowling II.

The obvious meaning of it being Bowling II is that there was a Bowling I, which is true. Classes on bowling are among the many sport and recreation courses offered at my fair university.

Bowling II is a “continuation of Bowling I basics plus use of different balls & grips, spare shooting & adapting to changing lane conditions.” [sic.] It should be a fun class. I’d met the instructor Chad Sorce at the first meeting of my Bowling I class this summer. The regular instructor was at a bowling tournament in Florida, so Chad filled in and let us throw balls for a while.

Apparently Bowling II has written midterm and final exams. I’m curious to see what those will be, but if it’s anything like Bowling I, they shouldn’t be too hard. Despite what you may think about bowling, there are things to think about and to understand, things which can be tested on. So I guess that’s why we get an exam. And we are at a university… gotta have a test to prove we memorized the requisite facts, right? Right…

Actually, the best exams I’ve had are not tests of my memorization of information, but tests that ask me to synthesize things I’ve learned. The better you do at that, the better your grade. I suppose you can get through without doing that (hello George Dubl-u).

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.