Here comes the frost

Literally. It’s supposed to frost tomorrow night. Time to bring in all the tomatoes, peppers, and melons that we have been letting grow. There’s probably a few pea and bean pods in there, too.

This also means we can harvest the brussels sprouts. Yum!

And then we can clean out the planting beds, fill them with some compost, and wish them a good night’s sleep over winter.

I’m actually excited about garden work! It’s a nice change; lately, the gardens have gotten so little of my attention or interest. I think it’s exciting as it’s a seasonal thing. Even though I’ve been gardening for the past few years, usually the frost has meant that the long wait for the next growing sesaon begins. But now I see it as a transiton and part of a cycle, something that I’ve not been able to so directly appreciate. I wonder what changed.

Either way, yay, frost!

I’ll be cursing it tomorrow. ;->

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.

1 thought on “Here comes the frost”

Comments are closed.