A beard that I can strive for

I remember when my late grandpa Herb Haas saw me with a full beard for the first time, and he cracked, “What the hell happened to your face?!” We hugged immediately after that, so it was better than it sounds.

But, even with my mighty beard, I pale in comparison to others. Witness Elmar Weiss’ Windmill Beard.


Truly an epic win! Good German (American) beard-bearers such as myself have at last something to strive for.

That said, Marty Willson-Piper of The Church had a truly epic beard on his solo tour a few years ago. It was at least a foot longer than it was in this photo:

Image from The Big Takeover

Nice bass!

This photo‘s pretty wicked, too. The Church’s other fine guitarist Peter Koppes is standing on the left.

And there’s always Marty’s incomparable lady-friend Tiare… enough said!

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.