Windows 7: To get it, or not?

I can get Windows 7 for $30 through this special deal for university students.

If I did get it, then I’d have to install it on a machine, which would probably be my MacBook.

Bearing in mind that I can get it for $30 (the “professional” version no less), should I bother? It’s not like I need it per se. I’ve done fine all these years without a PC; the last time there was a Microsoft OS within my immediate family was when we got the Apple ][+ back in 1981, with ProDOS… and we liked it.

Anyway.

Thoughts? Would it be worth losing time and effort otherwise spent on other stuff and hard disk space? Given that winter will be approaching, and I’ll have time to look for a job once I’m done with school, adding some Windows skills to my repertoire may not be a bad thing. Strangely, I’m not too worried about blowing my cred as a lifelong Mac user. (I already did that in 1998 as the #2 at LinuxPPC, anyway.)

I still have yet to upgrade to Mac OS X 10.6, so maybe I should do that first. It will work without totally nuking my Mac, though I should back everything up regardless of whether or not I install any OS.

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.

One thought on “Windows 7: To get it, or not?”

Comments are closed.