“Peak Oil” fans may like this

A post over on Silver Bear Cafe called “Temporary Recession or the End of Growth?” is an article from Richard Heinberg, who is biled as a “Senior Fellow of the Post Carbon Institute and author of five books on resource depletion and societal responses to the energy problem.” His article has to do with more than just petroleum. Economics comes into it. Heck, who knows if we’re really out of the economic crunch, anyway? Who knows.

But here’s where I am on the peak oil thing: I don’t buy it. But dear god do I believe we need to get our economy and the world off petroleum. There’s nothing good about it, except that it makes our world possible… at a very high price that we’ve been experiencing for nearly the past twenty years. (I’m thinking back to Gulf War I.) And it will probably get worse with time. So, I don’t buy the linchpin argument. But I agree with everything else you say. Have fun with that!

In the meantime, I will do what I can to improve my life and my community. And if it can involve using less petroleum, all the better.

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.