Music used as torture techniqueº at Gitmo?

While it would be torture for me to be forced to listen to “Hold My Hand” by Hootie & The Blowfish for hours upon hours at a high volume, Roseanne Cash, daughter of country great Johnny Cash, is right when she said that music should not be used as torture. Her music, along with that of Nine Inch Nails*, Eminem, and even Queen** were used for that purpose.

As a musician, I fully concur. Music is one of the things that makes humanity unique among the animals of the world. That we can compose and orchestrate multiple sounds is remarkable, and I’m grateful every time that I get to do it, even if it’s just plugging in my bass guitar and jamming with my bandmates.

º Apologies to Chris Randall.

** “We Are The Champions” as torture? Come on! That song helped my daughter learn to ride her bike. That’s patently offensive to me.

* “March of the Pigs” is an effective choice for this purpose, though.

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.