A late night shooting in downtown Bay View

A man was shot late last night in downtown Bay View when he tried to intervene in what may have been a domestic dispute. I heard today that he ran outside in his boxer shorts to help a woman who was screaming for help. The same person also told me first that the man had died, but then old me that he was okay.

I have no information other than what appeared in this article on the Bay View Compass website. The Compass deserves credit for breaking the story. I have yet to see a word from any other media sources.

This shooting does not indicate that the neighborhood is going south. Events like this make Bay View come together and support those who were injured and demand that justice be performed.

More as soon as I know it.

Update: It seems that the victim is alive. We are getting conflicting reports as to the cause of the event. So nothing new beyond that he’s still alive.

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.