Drink Liberally this Wednesday! (Albeit without me… this time.)

While I could really use a beer to help forget Joe Lieberman’s childish power games, that will have to wait, at least for me this month. I’ve got my last set of final exams in my storied undergraduate career, all in a row, Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday. As such I can’t join you for out last round of liberal drinking this coming Wednesday, the 16th of December.

What a fine time it would have been to raise a glass: give or take a few weeks, the Decemberist Revolt in Imperial Russia took place some 184 years ago. Russia’s first revolution saw officers from the Imperial Guards stand up to prevent the taking of power by Tsar Nicholas I, great-grandfather of Nicholas II, the last emperor of Russia who survived two revolutions, only to be killed after the third. What a life! What a story. And to think, I won’t be able to tell you about it on Wednesday.

That said, I’ll see you in January, when we pick up on 7:00 on Wednesday the 20th, and I can regale you with my stories of my first month as a college graduate.

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.