Milwaukee News Buzz debuts

…and begs for painfully bad pun in this headline… but this is not the Journal Sentinel.

Milwaukee News Buzz is a new site from the crew at Milwaukee Magazine. They may be encouraged to read that I’ve learned more about the local scene in thirty seconds of glancing at Milwaukee News Buzz than I usually do from much any length of time scanning the headlines on JSonline. At the same time, in a way I’m sorry to say that. I’ve really been enjoying reading the New York Times lately. I don’t care what you think of that paper’s alleged “bias”; next to The Guardian, the Times it simply is the best damn newspaper around. I wish we had something resembling that paper’s quality of writing and investigative prowess here in Milwaukee.

(Note to Tom Daykin: your blog/column is an exception to the above statement.)

For instance, I wasn’t aware that there was a renewable fuel plant in the works at the Port of Milwaukee, or at least not as described in Matthew Hrodey’s story.

Between him and Tom Daykin, I feel much more informed about local action than I would have otherwise. (Note to Milwaukee Magazine: Hire Tom Daykin!)

Anyhow, it’s good to see someone picked up an idea had with The Wisconsinite, which was to have a blog or other for of news outlet with a statewide reach as well as locally-oriented stuff. My mind and heart are now firmly fixed on urban farming and redevelopment, so I wish Bruce and the boys luck with this. It will certainly become part of

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.