Household potato gardening once again in 2010

This gorgeous opening day for baseball season gave me a great opportunity to listen to the game (Braun just got a run!) and get our improvised potato gardens built and loaded with potato sprouts.

You can do it too—good instructions are right here. All you’ll need is potatoes that have sprouted. They’re the ones that grocery stores throw away, unless they have arranged for a compost pickup, a la Outpost and Pick n’ Save in Milwaukee.

I now have three tires and one bucket, bearing a total of eight potato “sprouts.” I’ve taken a bunch of potatoes that have sprouted, and cut off the bits with eyes. The pieces are about half the size of a small cell phone, and placed about a foot apart from one another in the dirt. That in turn is either inside of a tire, or a bucket.

To make it look better, I’m going to recruit some neighborhood kids to paint some boards and build a small structure around the tires and bucket. Hopefully I’ll come across another three tires, which would make for a symmetrical display. (I’ve used tires found in lots or on the street. Rest assured they’ve all been thoroughly rinsed out.)

Last year, I grew about ten taters of different sizes from two whole ‘tatoes that I planted whole. That’s described in this September 2009 post. We’ll see how the sliced potatoes do this year.

I’ve got dirt on my hands and a smile on my face. Pictures to follow!

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.