Pre-“bloated dinosaur” Pink Floyd: “Careful With That Axe Eugene” in 1973

In an old video of an interview with Steve Kilbey, who is the bassist, lyricist, and lead singer of my favorite band in the world, The Church, was asked by an interviewer about songs that influenced him. One he identified was that early underground Pink Floyd classic, “Careful With That Axe Eugene.” In that interview from around 1987, Kilbey identified that song as being from when Pink Floyd was still pushing the boundaries of rock and roll. Older Floyd certainly influenced Kilbey and his bandmates, and their band The Church has had the title of my favorite band in the world since I was introduced to them in 1998 — largely to get me off of listening to Pink Floyd nearly non-stop. (To be fair, later on I interspersed it with Dave Brubeck, Coleman Hawkins, KMFDM, Nine Inch Nails, Ministry, and Einsturzende Neubauten. You know, typical easy listening stuff. (And that was then; today I was kicking it to The Chicken Shack on WMSE.))

Thanks to YouTube, I can make myself feel a bit like I’m half my age for a few minutes by finding films of Pink Floyd that were made before I was born. It’s a good thing they didn’t have YouTube when I was 16 years old. I would have gotten even less done! Take, for example, Pink Floyd performing at Earl’s Court in London on 18 May 1973. This is long-haired Pink Floyd, not what Kilbey called the “bloated old band” playing to “hundreds of thousands of people, bass players jumping around” — that’s David Gilmour’s Pink Floyd on its 1987-1988 Delicate Sound of Thunder tour.

Watch with headphones on, in full screen mode, with the volume turned up, and while sitting alone in a very dark room…

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.

6 thoughts on “Pre-“bloated dinosaur” Pink Floyd: “Careful With That Axe Eugene” in 1973”

    1. Wow, cool. Can you remember how the show was?

      A neighbor saw the same tour here at County Stadium in Milwaukee. She’s not able to recall too much of it though. ;-o

  1. Like you, I’ve listened to them endlessly (small world, I’m also a huge Church fan).

    As a 40’s something, my only regret was being too young to be there when great Floyd albums like Meddle, Obscured, DSOM, Wish, etc were released. The first release I remember was The Wall – I was in eighth grade – What kid didn’t like “Another Brick in The Wall”. Hey Teacher, Leave Those Kids Alone.

    When my wife/kids are gone, I love cranking the Floyd up to concert levels and listening to the likes of Echoes and Careful with That ax Eugene!

    1. g: Wow. Small world indeed. I am 100% with you about cranking “Echoes,” and I really should do that with “Eugene” some time. (Need a better stereo first!)

      Also, I understand that Gilmour played “Echoes” live with Rick Wright on his “Live at Gdansk” solo disc. Check it out!

      1. Jason, Live at Gdansk is an awesome live show.

        If you haven’t already, you might check out David Gilmour Live at the Albert Hall (2006). He once again teams up with Wright and plays Echoes (among other great Floyd relics from the past)

        Having a kick ass stereo is a must! Watching live at Albert Hall on a big screen in 5.1 surround is like being there!!!

Comments are closed.