Was Tina Fey (as Sarah Palin) aping Nikita Khrushchev?

Look at this! In the 21 September 1959 issue of the San Luis Obispo Telegram-Tribune, Soviet Premier Nikita Khrushchev is quoted as saying,

“San Francisco is a neighbor. You live very close to Russia and we look in each other’s windows.”

Of course it was in Tina Fey’s parodying of Sarah Palin on Saturday Night Live that she had this classic exchange with Amy Poehler playing Hillary Clinton:

FEY AS PALIN: “You know, Hillary and I don’t agree on everything…”

POEHLER AS CLINTON: (OVERLAPPING) “Anything. I believe that diplomacy should be the cornerstone of any foreign policy.”

FEY AS PALIN: “And I can see Russia from my house.”

Art continued to imitate are imitating life, when I extended this in a 2008 live action interactive murder mystery production, in which I played a Russian oil executive who wanted to “dryeill ze Bay” here in Bay View. When someone asked my character what I thought of Sarah Palin, I said, “You know, ven I go home to Vladivostok, and look out my bedroom veendow, and I see… Sarah… Da, Sarah, ona otchen korosho!”

Yeah, you pretty much had to be there. And while it is unlikely that Ms. Fey knew that obscure quote from Nikita Khrushchev, who knows? Art imitating life imitating art in the strangest ways.

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.

2 thoughts on “Was Tina Fey (as Sarah Palin) aping Nikita Khrushchev?”

    1. Great question, David! Perhaps John Goodman could fill the role if he was the guest that night. Look at his work in “O Brother” as Big Dan Teague the cyclops Bible salesman (nee Polyphemus). We should see if he’d like to do it. 😀

Comments are closed.