Great time at Fourth of July parade in Cudahy

The south side city of Cudahy, Wisconsin puts on a fine Fourth of July parade. I had a great time, accompanying state Rep. Christine Sinicki’s convoy, throwing candy to the crowd and wishing folks a happy Fourth. This parade was made a lot easier for me, as the float behind us, which I believe was for a Cudahy official, had a rock band on it. This band did a really good job, covering tunes by AC/DC, Ozzy Osbourne, the Rolling Stones, and Golden Earring. And who’d have thunk it, the Stones and Osbourne make really good music for throwing candy to the crowd! Despite doing my best impression of Mick Jagger at one point, my exertion in the heat did not wear me out until we were a few feet away from the very end of the parade at Sheridan Park.

My buddy Zach Dubya has posted the first sections of the Declaration of Independence. As we get the Sunday New York Times, I had the chance to marvel at that document, the same parts of which are printed on a full page in the Sunday Times. It’s impressive to see how many people signed it, folks whom I hadn’t heard of. Arthur Middleton? Button Gwinnett? Robert Treat Paine or Francis Lightfoot Lee? Most interesting. Shows me what I need to study a bit.

At the parade, I was wondering about how some of the parents weren’t telling their kids to run out into the street to retrieve candy. There are floats and large fire trucks coming up behind us… Hopefully no one got hurt as a result of chasing candy.

Also, I had a fine time meeting people from the Cudahy Police Department, including Chief Thomas Poellot, canine handler Officer Brian Olson, and the black and tan German Shepherd “Ezzo” (pronounced Et-zo). I bought a Cudahy P.D. Canine Unit t-shirt for my daughter, who’s become a fan of dogs now that we have our big dog Carl in the house.

So yeah, happy birthday, America! Having come into the world just before your 200th anniversary, it’s been a pleasure and an adventure to be here. Who knows, maybe I’ll make it to your 300th. A full 100 years old, I’d be. Well, stranger things have happened.

Have a great Independence Day!

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.

One thought on “Great time at Fourth of July parade in Cudahy”

Comments are closed.