Blog Worth Reading: 2 Acre Farm

The latest addition to my little blogroll is 2 Acre Farm, Based in Carlinville, Illinois, appears to be the little farm that could. Serving the southern area of Illinois, closer to St. Louis than to Chicago, this farm turns out both great food and great online content. They seem to have found a knack for the latter. Their pictures alone make me want to try growing some of the more obscure crops they discuss. And the list on the left of what they’ve grown for farmers markets could be that source of inspiration by itself. I’d like to explore the eloquently named Paul Robeson heirloom tomato, and the Dragon Tongue snap beans. What’s a Dragon Carrot? And while I’m not much a fan of cherries, Aunt Molly’s Ground Cherry is quite an intriguing plant.

(Ha, look at this: the Paul Robeson Black Tomato came from Russia. Siberia, no less! I wonder if Khrushchev was thinking of these for his Virgin Lands program. Although I’m pretty sure he was thinking of corn. Russia: A Country Study confirms this.)

http://www.vegetableseed.net/heirloom-vegetable-seeds/heirloom-tomato-seeds/heirloom-black-tomato-seeds/paul-robeson-tomato-seeds.html

The farm bears the stamp of a Certified Naturally Grown farm. That, as opposed to organic. I’ll look into the distinctions more later. Probably avoids the fees of getting USDA organic certification. We’ll see. (Thank you to Nathan from 2AF for elucidating on this.)

You can also find 2 Acre Farm on Facebook.

Very appropriate that I’d come across this shortly after I found the University of Illinois Extension’s Watch Your Garden Grow guide has proven helpful to me today.

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.

3 thoughts on “Blog Worth Reading: 2 Acre Farm”

  1. Thanks for the kind words and congratulations on the new addition!

    A few things about Certified Naturally Grown (CNG) to peak your interest and give you a push into the further investigation; USDA Organic does NOT do any chemical testing while CNG does random testing, CNG does not allow genetically modified organisms and USDA Organic does, CNG requires animals to be pastured for a certain amount of their lives and USDA Organic requires “access to pasture” which means they never have to actually open the gate just have one.

    One of the most interesting things is CNG’s incredible transparency. It is so easy to find the farmer requirements on their website. You can also search and find scanned copies of the farmer’s applications, inspection reports, and declarations. After you witness this go to the USDA’s website and try to wade through the muck and confusion for similar information. It is nearly impossible to find what is required and while I have heard one exists I still have never found a list of farmers to verify if someone who claims to be certified organic actually is.

    Sorry for the lengthy comment it is just so easy to go on in length about the differences. Thanks again and I am glad you enjoy our blog.

    -Nathan

    1. Nathan,
      Your mom send me your site. I just wanted to tell you that I am proud of you. Keep up the good work.
      Tam

  2. Nathan…this is just great! Your mom sent me the link and my sis, Susan said she had seen you and your family at the Farmers Market. Hopefully I will get to see you the end of August when I come to Edwardsville for a visit. Congratulations on doing so well!!

    Betsy Child

Comments are closed.