Luncheon, O luncheon, how I love thee

I don’t know why it is that I was struck with a sudden affinity for the word “luncheon.” It started when I saw Ron “ROJO” Johnson would be having a luncheon. It seemed quite the hoity-toity affair, perfect for someone of Mr. Johnson’s upper class gravitas.

Now it seems Mayor Barrett will be having a luncheon of his own with none other than President Obama. While I’d love to see the President in person, given that seats start at $250, I don’t think I’ll be attending.

And hey, Chicago Trib, how much did the previous resident of the White House charge for his? Those were not small-donor events either.

So what is a luncheon, anyway? Let’s ask my computer’s dictionary:

luncheon |ˈlən ch ən|
noun
a formal lunch, or a formal word for lunch.
ORIGIN late 16th cent. (in the sense [thick piece, hunk] ): possibly an extension of obsolete lunch [thick piece, hunk,] from Spanish lonja ‘slice.’

Hmm, pretty much what I thought. Well, there you have it. As my wife put it, “What’s the difference between a lunch and a luncheon?” She answered her own question: “About $235.”

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.