Santiago to leave UWM; Tosa “campus” still to happen?

It’s likely not news by now that University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Chancellor Carlos Santiago has taken a job in Washington, D.C. and will be leaving town.

As the planned development of an engineering graduate school in Wauwatosa was pretty much his idea alone, and something that was resisted by almost everyone outside Santiago’s enclave, I wonder if it will be pursued further. I, for one, hope it will be dropped. As I’ve written, UWM has a double standard on living and leaning in the city. While I’m generally okay with the expansion within the City of Milwaukee, I want UWM to stay within Milwaukee. Preferably in one campus.

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.