One from the gut (feeling): No GOP takeover in the fall

Every once in a while, I get a hunch. 9 times out of 10, they prove true. Sometimes they’re important, such as my prediction that a large SUV would hit my little Honda, but I’d live. I didn’t say that I always listened to them (why didn’t I drive the Eagle Vision that night? (Because it had an automatic transmission, which is much less interesting or fun to drive)), but even so, they usually come true.

The latest: the Republicans will not execute a whole takeover of Government this fall. By that, I mean that I think they will not take both houses of Congress. My rationation: the Republicans peaked too soon. This bullshit-brouhaha over the Islamic center in lower Manhattan might have raised enough hackles to agitate right-wing voters to the polls, but come the primary on Tuesday, I have a hunch that a lot of that load will be spent. Moreover, let’s say we do get a raft of cut-the-budget-at-all-costs apparatchiks on the November ballot. With all the inexperienced supposed-entitlement-slashers on board, the focus will soon turn to question of governance. As in, how will they govern? How will they go about executing the provision of vital government services? For all the prognostication about the constitution that’s been all the rage as of late, people seem to be collectively, even deliberately overlooking these vital words in the Preamble:

We the People of the United States, in Order to form a more perfect Union, establish Justice, insure domestic Tranquility, provide for the common defence, promote the general Welfare, and secure the Blessings of Liberty to ourselves and our Posterity

Domestic Tranquility. Promote the general Welfare. Ensure Liberty to ourselves and our Posterity. While I love that Germanic noun capitalization, my point is that the constitution calls for us to ensure that not only can we carry on as a society that has free trade within itself, but that we can say how we think and feel, and do so without fear of repercussion. One’s actual ability to do so has varied over time, and place, and with each niche of society. But I think we need to remember that the constitution calls for those qualities of society just as much as anything else.

</rant>

Wow. I just wanted to say that I don’t think there will be this huge Republican takeover in the fall. Take it or leave it, I’d love to hear your rationation—let me emphasize the rational root of that word—on how my hunch may or may not but borne out.

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.