Kathleen Falk stepping down as Dane County exec

My friend and former county supervisor Al Matano emailed me with the surprising news that Dane County Executive Kathleen Falk will resign in April 2011. She will not seek re-election in 2013.

The move comes as a surprise. According to a short story on madison.com, “Falk said at a news conference that she is turning 60 in 2011 and this is the right time to move on.”

I thought highly of Falk while I lived in Madison. She did a good job as county exec, and I only wish we had someone with her sense and decency here in Milwaukee County. As she moves on, I would like to recognize the decades of public service that she gave the people of our state. It takes a real commitment to the public good to perform that kind of work, as thankless as it sometimes may be.

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.